Life is Happening FOR Us NOT to Us

Andrew Foster
2 min readNov 1, 2022

--

Photo by Mason Kimbarovsky on Unsplash

I like Tony Robbins. I’m a fan. He’s definitely larger than life. I recently read one of his beliefs, and I liked it. Its life is happening for us, not to us. It means we have to find positivity and growth in everything ourselves.

I find it freeing and powerful. I like knowing I’m in charge of finding happiness and I’m in charge of my life. Sure, things happen to some people. People always win the Powerball, but those people are few and far between.

My brother had childhood Leukemia and very sadly passed from it, but while he was alive, he lived and didn’t let life happen to him. Between courses of chemo, he started playing football. He still played all the backyard sports he could. The football team he played with even started an award named after him, not for the best player, but for the player that tries the hardest. They still give out that award today, and that’s close to 30 years later recently, I bumped into a person with a son playing Brighton Township football, and it’s still a very high honor.

When he was in the hospital, he never felt bad for himself. He joked around with the nurses and traded baseball cards with one of the techs. He could have just rolled over and let the misery of chemotherapy happen, but he didn’t. He kept living until the very end.

As for me, I’m not mildly or moderately but severely bipolar. I could roll over and just let that wreck my life, but instead, I’ve decided to start writing and share all that I’ve read, learned, and experienced along the way in hopes I could help others. And I have great fun doing it. I know a lot and internalize more and more as I go.

Here’s an exercise. Make a bucket list, no matter how old you are, and resolve to start checking items off. Where there is a will, there is a way.

There’s the phrase life happens. But it happens for us, not to us!

--

--

Andrew Foster

A student of love, relationships and self help who likes to write about and teach what I’ve learned along the way